Angebote zu "Splendor" (5 Treffer)

Wildlife of East Africa
€ 16.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Those looking for a concise, informative, visually breathtaking yet affordable East African safari need look no further. Featuring full-color photos of 475 common species of birds, mammals, snakes, lizards, insects, trees, and flowers, ´´Wildlife of East Africa´´ takes readers on an exquisite tour through the living splendor of the national parks and game reserves of Kenya, Tanzania, and Uganda.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Oct 26, 2018
Zum Angebot
Summer´s Freedom , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 341min
€ 9.95 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Fans of Barbara Freethy, Susan Mallery, and Robyn Carr will love this powerful, full length contemporary romance novel by award-winning Barbara Samuel. Joel Summer knew about living with lies - his past forced him to - but loving with lies was different. Every day he spent with sweet Maggie Henderson, every time she looked at him with deepening trust, he wrestled with his deception. As their precious, innocent springtime moved toward heated, dusky summer, could he halt the churning wheels of fate, prevent the truth from escaping and keep Maggie believing in him? Her brawny neighbor gently liberated man-shy Maggie - body and soul. Days with Joel were perfect...night, breathless with splendor. Still, like the birds of prey he cared for, a fierce intensity sometimes swooped into his eyes, hinting at inner torment. But surely love would release him into joy.... 1. Language: English. Narrator: Paul Fleschner. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/004950/bk_acx0_004950_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible - Hörbücher
Stand: Aug 13, 2018
Zum Angebot
The Evolution of Beauty: How Darwin´s Forgotten...
€ 9.95 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

A major reimagining of how evolutionary forces work, revealing how mating preferences - what Darwin termed ´´the taste for the beautiful´´ - create the extraordinary range of ornament in the animal world. In the great halls of science, dogma holds that Darwin´s theory of natural selection explains every branch on the tree of life: which species thrive, which wither away to extinction, and what features each evolves. But can adaptation by natural selection really account for everything we see in nature? Yale University ornithologist Richard Prum - reviving Darwin´s own views - thinks not. Deep in tropical jungles around the world are birds with a dizzying array of appearances and mating displays: club-winged manakins who sing with their wings, great argus pheasants who dazzle prospective mates with a four-foot-wide cone of feathers covered in golden 3-D spheres, red-capped manakins who moonwalk. In 30 years of fieldwork, Prum has seen numerous display traits that seem disconnected from, if not outright contrary to, selection for individual survival. To explain this, he dusts off Darwin´s long-neglected theory of sexual selection, in which the act of choosing a mate for purely aesthetic reasons - for the mere pleasure of it - is an independent engine of evolutionary change. Mate choice can drive ornamental traits from the constraints of adaptive evolution, allowing them to grow ever more elaborate. It also sets the stakes for sexual conflict, in which the sexual autonomy of the female evolves in response to male sexual control. Most crucially, this framework provides important insights into the evolution of human sexuality, particularly the ways in which female preferences have changed male bodies, and even maleness itself, through evolutionary time. The Evolution of Beauty presents a unique scientific vision for how nature´s splendor contributes to a more complete understanding of evolution and of ourselves. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Dan Woren. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/rand/005103/bk_rand_005103_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible - Hörbücher
Stand: Aug 13, 2018
Zum Angebot
Perdido Street Station , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 1...
€ 9.95 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Beneath the towering bleached ribs of a dead, ancient beast lies New Crobuzon, a squalid city where humans, Re-mades, and arcane races live in perpetual fear of Parliament and its brutal militia. The air and rivers are thick with factory pollutants and the strange effluents of alchemy, and the ghettos contain a vast mix of workers, artists, spies, junkies, and whores. In New Crobuzon, the unsavory deal is stranger to none - not even to Isaac, a brilliant scientist with a penchant for Crisis Theory. Isaac has spent a lifetime quietly carrying out his unique research. But when a half-bird, half-human creature known as the Garuda comes to him from afar, Isaac is faced with challenges he has never before fathomed. Though the Garuda´s request is scientifically daunting, Isaac is sparked by his own curiosity and an uncanny reverence for this curious stranger. While Isaac´s experiments for the Garuda turn into an obsession, one of his lab specimens demands attention: a brilliantly colored caterpillar that feeds on nothing but a hallucinatory drug and grows larger - and more consuming - by the day. What finally emerges from the silken cocoon will permeate every fiber of New Crobuzon, and not even the Ambassador of Hell will challenge the malignant terror it invokes. A magnificent fantasy rife with scientific splendor, magical intrigue, and wonderfully realized characters, told in a storytelling style in which Charles Dickens meets Neal Stephenson, Perdido Street Station offers an eerie, voluptuously crafted world that will plumb the depths of every reader´s imagination. 1. Language: English. Narrator: John Lee. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/rand/001879/bk_rand_001879_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible - Hörbücher
Stand: Aug 13, 2018
Zum Angebot
Evolution of Beauty
€ 19.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

A FINALIST FOR THE PULITZER PRIZE NAMED A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR BY THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW, SMITHSONIAN, AND WALL STREET JOURNAL A major reimagining of how evolutionary forces work, revealing how mating preferences-what Darwin termed ´´the taste for the beautiful´´-create the extraordinary range of ornament in the animal world. In the great halls of science, dogma holds that Darwin´s theory of natural selection explains every branch on the tree of life: which species thrive, which wither away to extinction, and what features each evolves. But can adaptation by natural selection really account for everything we see in nature? Yale University ornithologist Richard Prum-reviving Darwin´s own views-thinks not. Deep in tropical jungles around the world are birds with a dizzying array of appearances and mating displays: Club-winged Manakins who sing with their wings, Great Argus Pheasants who dazzle prospective mates with a four-foot-wide cone of feathers covered in golden 3D spheres, Red-capped Manakins who moonwalk. In thirty years of fieldwork, Prum has seen numerous display traits that seem disconnected from, if not outright contrary to, selection for individual survival. To explain this, he dusts off Darwin´s long-neglected theory of sexual selection in which the act of choosing a mate for purely aesthetic reasons-for the mere pleasure of it-is an independent engine of evolutionary change. Mate choice can drive ornamental traits from the constraints of adaptive evolution, allowing them to grow ever more elaborate. It also sets the stakes for sexual conflict, in which the sexual autonomy of the female evolves in response to male sexual control. Most crucially, this framework provides important insights into the evolution of human sexuality, particularly the ways in which female preferences have changed male bodies, and even maleness itself, through evolutionary time. The Evolution of Beauty presents a unique scientific vision for how nature´s splendor contributes to a more complete understanding of evolution and of ourselves.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Oct 26, 2018
Zum Angebot